Penn Technologies, Your Ideas

A flexible window that can transform from clear to opaque, then back again. A material that’s lighter and thinner than a dragonfly’s wing, yet tough enough to hold its shape.

Penn Engineers have created some of today’s most amazing nanotechnologies. Now is your chance to figure out how these technologies will shape our lives tomorrow.

The Y-Prize challenges students to discover the hidden potential in Penn research. You’ll learn how to take technology out of the lab and into the marketplace, to transform invention into true innovation. And if your team proposes the best commercial application for Penn technology? You’ll win $10,000.

Upcoming Events

Grand Finale: January 23, 2017

Past Y-Prize Winners

Y-Prize Winners 2016

Check out previous years’ winners to learn more about where the Y-Prize journey can lead.